FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
- Register online for the course which best fits your schedule.
- Pay the deposit or full amount due.
- Begin and complete classroom education (in a classroom or online).
- Take the permit test at our office or at the DMV. If testing at the DMV, you will need to be at least 15 years old.
- Once 15 years old, take the signed MV form to the DMV to get your permit.
- Begin your behind the wheel lessons after 6-10 hours of driving practice.
- Finish your 6 hours of drive time and 6 hours of observation time. If you selected the Premium Behind the Wheel package, you will need to finish 9 hours of drive time but will not have to complete any observation hours.
- Pass your road test at the DMV or apply for the road test waiver. You must be at least 16 years old and have held your permit for 6 months.
Our office at 1903 Keith Street, Suite #7, in Eau Claire is open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM Friday. We realize these hours may not work for everyone's busy schedule, so we do our best to check emails and return phone calls outside of these hours whenever possible.
We ask that a student be at least within 6 months of their 15th birthday before starting a class. Wisconsin state law requires that students must attain a valid instruction permit within 13 months of completing the 30-hour state-approved classroom session. If an instruction permit is not received within 13 months, there will be additional classroom time required by the state.
We accept cash, checks, and credit cards.
We will do lessons if it is snowing or if driving conditions are difficult. We will cancel lessons or classes if we believe it is unsafe to drive. You will be notified by phone or text in the event of a cancellation.
Your deposit of $50 is nonrefundable. We do understand that schedules can change, so if you need to be moved to a different classroom session, please let us know as soon as possible and the deposit will be applied to your new class selection.
We ask that your full balance be paid prior to the last day of your classroom
session. If you need assistance and would like a payment plan we ask that
you do the following:
Pay $50 registration fee prior to starting class.
Pay $100 prior to the last day of class.
Pay $100 prior to scheduling your first lesson.
Pay $100 prior to scheduling your 2nd lesson.
Pay your full remaining balance prior to scheduling your 3rd lesson.
Our in-person classes are held five days a week for three weeks. Each class is limited to no more than 2 hours per day per state law.
State law requires all students to complete a total of 30 hours of classroom time. If a student misses a day, they will receive an assignment to complete at home for the day they missed. The state does not allow more than two absences. If you miss more than two classes, you must come to a future class session and attend the day/s that you missed.
Yes! We use a local Wisconsin company that has designed this course with informative slides, instructional videos, and review questions throughout.
You can use a computer, tablet, or phone.
State law allows students to complete up to 2 hours of online class each day. There is no minimum amount each day, but you will need to complete the class within 90 days. If an extension beyond the 90 days is required, there will be an additional charge.
The next step is to take the state knowledge and signs tests. You may call or email us to schedule a time to take the permit test at our office. If you are already 15, you can also choose to take the test at the DMV. If going to the DMV, you will need to first pick up an MV form from our office. If you choose to test at our office, you will still need to go to the DMV afterward but the testing part will be completed.
The MV3001 form is the document that verifies the student has fulfilled the classroom requirement or is in the process of completing the classroom portion of driver education and is 15 years of age or older.
The MV3001 form must be signed by an Accountable Driver Education employee before going to the local DMV. Students can NOT get the signed MV3001 form prior to the start of their classroom session.
The MV3001 form can NOT be signed by an instructor or staff member until the day the student turns 15. If the birthday lands on a weekend, then the form can be signed and issued on the next business day. This rule is mandated by the state and not a school policy.
BEHIND THE WHEEL INFORMATION
Students may schedule their first behind the wheel lesson as soon as they have their permit.
State law requires you to complete your first lesson within 60 days of receiving your MV form. To get the most out of your lessons, it is best to space them out evenly. For most students this will wind up being about one lesson every 6-10 weeks.
It is a good idea to schedule your last lesson one to two weeks before your road test or the date you plan on applying for the waiver. Scheduling it at least one week in advance allows us time to ensure the proper paperwork is filed so you will not have any issues on test day. As soon as you schedule your road test, you should contact us to schedule your last lesson.
We understand that schedules can change. Feel free to cancel by giving us a call or going online. Please do not cancel a lesson within 48 hours of its scheduled start time. If you do this, we will have to charge you a late-cancellation fee of $50.
If you do not show up for a scheduled lesson, you will be charged a no-show fee of $50. This is not meant as a punishment. The instructor planned on having a 2-hour lesson and will now have to wait an hour before their next lesson. We pay the instructors for their time from the no-show fee. In addition, the student who had scheduled an observation hour will now no longer have anyone to observe and will need to readjust their schedule.
No. Allowing a student to drive without their permit would be a violation of state law. This situation will be treated the same as a student who forgot they had a lesson, and unfortunately a no-show fee will be charged.
Yes. If you choose a package including 6 hours of behind the wheel and 6 hours of observation, you will drive for one hour during the lesson and the other student will drive for one hour. You will have six 2-hour lessons. If you choose a premium package including 9 hours of behind the wheel, you will drive for one hour and then be dropped off back at the pick-up location. There may be another student in the car observing you while you are driving.
You can take a road test with the DMV or apply for the waiver when you have reached the following requirements:
- Completed 30 required classroom hours
- Completed all required hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
- Are at least 16 years old and have held a valid WI instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months
- Student balance has been paid in full
Wisconsin is currently allowing students to obtain a license without taking a road test. Students still need to complete all driver education requirements. At the last behind the wheel lesson students will be evaluated on their driving skills. This evaluation form will be emailed to parents on the next business day. This form will contain information regarding applying for the road test waiver. This form is sent immediately after we notify the DMV that your student has completed driver's education. Please note, this evaluation is just a helpful tool for parents and will not affect your student's status for attaining a road test waiver.
Visit any Wisconsin DMV office, call 1-888-368-9556, or go to the state website to schedule your road test time online. You can schedule your test approximately 11 weeks prior to your desired test date. The DMV will add additional road test appointments each week, so if you cannot find a time that fits your schedule on the first attempt, more test times will be posted as the DMV is able to post availability.
Students must bring their instruction permit, Social Security number, and driving log to the DMV. Course completion information will be filed electronically with the DOT once all course requirements have been completed and any fees due have been paid.